Jump to content
  • 0

how would I give mods and helpers flares besides their names?


mmnnNo

Question

I want to give mods and helpers flares by their names to distinguish them from everyone else. 
(eg. [Helper]Gibb77: hey! I am a helper!  ) I am using permissionsEX and I am wondering if its a included feature and I am doing something wrong. thanks in advance!

(side question, how would I add colors to these flares too?)

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

You can give the helper and mod groups a prefix that will show up in chat. Here is a tutorial on how to use PermissionsEx

 

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

yeah, I am trying this but whenever I try to add a prefix to a group I get this message and I can't change the prefix. the (in world "name") bit is whatever I try to set the prefix to
image.png.1e57b432ca1f8128aa3dd8d22c94eadc.png

Edited by mmnnNo
added more stuff.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Just now, mmnnNo said:

yeah, I am trying this but whenever I try to add a prefix to a group I get this message and I can't change the prefix
image.png.1e57b432ca1f8128aa3dd8d22c94eadc.png

What is the command that you did? The command to set prefix should be /pex group (group) prefix set "prefix in quotes"

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

I copied the command in the document you linked me, but changed the prefix in quotes. I also tried putting two sets of quotes, and no quotes. I also tried that exact command except with the names it needs

 

Edited by mmnnNo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 minute ago, mmnnNo said:

I copied the command in the document you linked me, but changed the prefix in quotes. I also tried putting two sets of quotes, and no quotes. I also tried that exact command except with the names it needs

 

Did you try the exact command I said above? Also make sure you have vault and a chat format plugin or the prefixes won't show up in chat. Those 2 plugins are needed if you want them to show up in chat. 

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

thanks, I didn't have vault or a chat formatter, I am gonna install those. 

EDIT: just installed essentialschat, and already had vault.
image.png.fc501bc5722cb8dbaec41239670495d3.pngtried it out, same problem 

Edited by mmnnNo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
5 minutes ago, mmnnNo said:

thanks, I didn't have vault or a chat formatter, I am gonna install those. 

EDIT: just installed essentialschat, and already had vault.
image.png.fc501bc5722cb8dbaec41239670495d3.pngtried it out, same problem 

Try doing the following commands

/pex group helper create

/pex group helper prefix set "[Helper]"

/pex user (your name) group set helper

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
1 minute ago, _Tarna_ said:

Try doing the following commands

/pex group helper create

/pex group helper prefix set "[Helper]"

/pex user (your name) group set helper

the output of all of those commands. (if you're wondering, I tried to set helpers prefix again after I set myself to be helper, and no I do not have the prefix)image.png.2f876f496a0dab92852b71e14a68d41d.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

It keeps saying the prefix has been set to "" with nothing in the quotes. And it also says "in world [helper]". Make sure you only have one permission plugin. Having multiple can cause issue. What plugins do you have on your server?

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
8 minutes ago, _Tarna_ said:

It keeps saying the prefix has been set to "" with nothing in the quotes. And it also says "in world [helper]". Make sure you only have one permission plugin. Having multiple can cause issue. What plugins do you have on your server?

image.png.2c107ffd4eb95315e32b93a1f108f7e1.pngall my plugins here

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
Just now, mmnnNo said:

image.png.2c107ffd4eb95315e32b93a1f108f7e1.pngall my plugins here

Ok it doesn't seem you have more than one permission plugin so thats not the cause. Also you do not have a chat format plugin. EssentialsChat is an example of a chat format plugin.

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

I swear I installed essentialschat. maybe I missedclicked. I will install that
EDIT: minehut says I have it but files say I dont. will reinstall
EDIT AGAIN: I reinstalled it, but it still does not show up in files. trying to add a prefix yeilds the same result

image.thumb.png.c375b3ac57a9823548381a55377ff1ce.png

Edited by mmnnNo
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
2 minutes ago, mmnnNo said:

I swear I installed essentialschat. maybe I missedclicked. I will install that
EDIT: minehut says I have it but files say I dont. will reinstall

image.thumb.png.c375b3ac57a9823548381a55377ff1ce.png

Make sure to restart the server after getting any plugins. If that doesn't work either, try force hibernating the server then try again. 

Discord - tarna256

In-game name - _Tarna_

Website - https://tarna.dev
Paste Site: https://paste.tarna.dev

---------------------------------------------------------

[VIP] - 7/27/2020

Community Support - 7/8/20 | 11/3/20

Helper  - 11/3/20 - 2/21/21

Moderator - 2/21/21 - 5/17/21

❤️ - 5/17/21 - now

Moderator - 12/20/22 - now

---------------------------------------------------------

image.png.70849a9b84e0347ce107b8e3eaee312c.pngimage.png.2111009afbd8bef10966ba9ede35a199.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0
11 hours ago, _Tarna_ said:

Ok it doesn't seem you have more than one permission plugin so thats not the cause. Also you do not have a chat format plugin. EssentialsChat is an example of a chat format plugin.

he/she showed us the folders, not .jars remember that essentialschat is in essentialsx config.yml so it dont have its folder

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...